Meteor Shower

Did you see the meteor shower? I did. Looking up at the stars, waiting for small glimmering balls of fire to pass by in the amount of time it takes you to blink inspired me way more than I thought it would. For one thing, I think way more than I should. I imagine all of these things that COULD happen, but the chances are so small that they never really do. The fact that these things don’t happen, only inspires me to create the rest of this made up story. So I do, I’ve been writing stories lately.

Anyway, back to the shower. My house is at the dead-end of my street, so no cars come by. Especially at 2 in the morning. That meant my little brother and I laid out in the middle of the street, staring up at the sky waiting for one meteor that both of us saw. We both saw a good handful, but we only saw about two together. All of the others either he saw or I saw. Have you ever just sat outside in the middle of the night to look at the stars? When you can’t sleep or you get bored and have nothing to do. If you live in a place where you can see the stars, then I highly suggest it. Even if you aren’t much into nature.

I’m not much for nature, and I’ll admit it. All that hiking in the woods does for me is make me even more conscious of the fact that mosquitoes and wasps exist. I seriously don’t know what it is about me, but I can’t go outside in the summer without coming back with at least four bug bites. But when you’re out there, watching the stars and there are crickets chirping in the background, you can forget everything else in the world that is wrong. Looking up at the stars out there in the universe that are so far away you probably can’t even comprehend the distance between us and them, everything on earth seems so insignificant. All the petty fights going on, between your friends or family, they are totally pointless and mean nothing. There is so much out there.

Then I had the thought that somewhere out there, orbiting one of those small, flickering lights, could be a planet with intelligent life on it, like earth. There could be other civilizations looking up that the stars, just like us, contemplating the existence of alien life, whether or not there are other life sustaining planets orbiting the stars that they are seeing, looking at our sun through their atmospheres. What are the odds of that? Think of all of the life forms on earth. How many species on our planet spend any part of the night gazing up at the stars? I don’t know of any outside of homo sapiens. Granted, I am no biologist. I don’t know much about animal behaviors.

Maybe I’m just really interested in science, most people probably don’t find this as interesting as I do. What about you? Ever stay up until 2 in the morning to watch meteors burn up in our atmosphere? Do you ever just lay out at night looking at the stars? Are you as fascinated by the vastness of our universe as I am? Leave a comment and let me know.Thanks for reading!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

