Words

Words. They are amazing. They have so much power, so much emotion. Just, so much. They can sway opinions, they can make you cry, make you laugh, make you feel. Do you know how hard it is to make some people feel? Some people like that kid I sat in front of in eighth grade science class. They can be intimidating and scary, or they can be inspiring and uplifting. And through everything you manage to feel after reading or hearing them, they’re still just. . . words. Plain text, a jumble of letters strung together to make it a word that our brains can identify. What you’re reading is still just a cluster of pixels on your screen (on my page with a new design, I might add).

Emotion, that’s what words do. People read different ways. Some ask how these words made them feel something, some just don’t care how these words made them feel something, as long as they did. That’s the most remarkable thing about words as far as I’m concerned. They have this power over emotions. Words can make your day or darken your mood, lift you up or kick you down. They can change your perspective, they can force you to look at the bigger picture, they can bring new points of view to your attention. Emotions are the only things that make life worth living. They give you a reason to wake up in the morning. They keep you alive, and they keep you going.

Not all emotions are necessarily good, that’s for sure. There are ups and downs, but that’s life. Think of a heart monitor. If there are no ups and downs, then you’re dead; and I think we can all agree that’s the lowest low there is. This power to make you feel, to inspire you, to make you smile, to make you think; that’s why I write; that’s why I read; that’s why I misuse semicolons sometimes (go easy on me, I’m no English teacher).That’s why I think books are worth my time. Is there anything better than curling up with a book by candle light during a power outage on a rainy day and feeling something great just because of some ink on a page? No, there’s nothing better.

Most of our lives, we have been speaking these amazing things, writing them, thinking them. Walking around with a library’s worth of words floating around in our heads, running incessantly. We have language, a way to communicate everything. Is it possible to know every word in existence? I’d like to try, if I’m being honest with you. Not to flaunt a superior vocabulary on anyone, but just in an effort to make myself as well-spoken as I can be. In an attempt to know more and more of these extraordinary things that are used for all of these extraordinary purposes. Words.

Leave a Reply

