The After-Life

Look out, it’s about to get religious up in here. Well. . . not really. The topic came up the other day while I was talking to my aunt about what happens when you die. If you ask me, I’d say either heaven, hell, or purgatory. However, I won’t try to convince you that I’m right, and I won’t defend it because I’m not dead and I honestly have no clue what will happen when I’m gone.I’m Christian, but I don’t think a religion should define who you are, and I don’t think that you shouldn’t be allowed to speculate at all.

I will wonder about what happens and I can second guess my beliefs all I want,but that won’t help me find out what will happen, I’ll just end up with more theories.

There was one good theory that my aunt had, and I would say this is one of the best that I’ve heard. She said what if when we die, we just are born again, in the same life with the same parents? Then we just life this life in an endless cycle until we get it right. The sort of thing that would make you think that deja vu is just memories from a past life. Or maybe we don’t live it until we get it right, and we live it in an endless circle. The same life over and over for all of eternity.

I don’t know how we got on the topic, but we did, and we came up with so many different theories. I thought that maybe the famous ‘light’ that you are supposed to walk in to when you die is actually the first light you see when you are born. Or maybe you become a ghost. I believe in ghosts with all my heart, and my family was actually haunted by my uncle’s ghost, but I’ll save that for another blog.

I didn’t know it, but my aunt had actually been wondering about this for a while, because she had cancer. In fact, she just beat it a second time. There were a few times where she was out and brought back. She even had an out of body experience where she was watching the doctors revive her.

Sometimes I think it’s pointless to wonder. It doesn’t help anything, it even tortures me sometimes. The fact that we can plan out our entire lives, and sure there will be a few things here and there that are unanticipated, but for the most part, you can adjust. Then you die, and that is the world of the unknown. We don’t know. Maybe everybody goes through different things when they die. My brother might go to heaven, and I might become a ghost, and my sister may be reborn.

What do you think? What do you think will happen the day your heart stops beating?

8 Comments

    1. Thanks for reading! I’m glad you liked it. I’m sorry I didn’t apply sooner, this was in my spam comments and I don’t know how it got there. I usually reply to comments either the day they are written or the next. My fault, but I’m happy you enjoyed my blog 😀

      Reply

    1. I am Catholic, I just try not to mention it because I’m not particularly religious and I don’t like pushing it on anyone because hat’s really annoying. I’m sorry I’m not sure what you mean by your other question. I believe in them because I was raised to believe in them but I’m not positive of their existence because I’ve never been there. Hope this helps with your understanding of my post.

      Reply

      1. I understand bout that whole catholic thing, was just curious. as for the other part,if you believe in heaven, hell, purgatory, then how would they be in heaven, hell, purgatory and be in life again? not trying to argue, just wondering. btw, love that you respond so quickly!! 🙂
        ~ J

      2. Yeah I try, lol. I was trying to say that just because you believe something doesn’t mean it’s true. A big basis of this post is that there’s so much uncertainty because you can’t say that there IS anything for sure. I believe in it in a sense that I wouldn’t be surprised if I died and ended up in purgatory, and I would probably be expecting it, but I wouldn’t be totally shocked if I was re-born or if anything else were to happen to me. I don’t know if I’m doing a good job at explaining this, It’s just one of those things that is still left out in the open and you can’t be too positive about what lays on the other end.

Leave a Reply

