‘Tis The Season

I just thought I’d update to say happy holidays, to everyone out there. Regardless of what you celebrate or what religion you are or even if you aren’t celebrating a holiday, I hope you have a great time.

That being said, I have to tell you about my plans, because that’s what people do in blogs. It’s a rule, guys. You have to tell everyone about your personal life. I’m Catholic (don’t worry, I don’t mention it too often. I’m not very open about it) so I celebrate Christmas. On Christmas Eve, I’m spending the night with my Dad’s side of the family. The usual plans for Christmas Eve is a small exchange of gifts (my dad’s side of the family is the smaller side) and a nice little dinner. Signature dishes at this dinner include: kielbasa, smelts, other miscellaneous Polish foods. In short, it’s a total meat-fest. I should just say that this will be my first Christmas Eve dinner as a vegetarian, wish me luck.

The next morning, we have our usual family Christmas morning when the youngest two children (me and my little brother) are expected to wake up first and run around, forcing everyone else to wake up. I don’t do about you, but I go hard at Christmas. I mean, you’re NEVER to old to be excited for Christmas. Then all four of us, my two brothers, my sister, and I wait at the top of the stairs where we aren’t able to see the gifts, and wait for our dad to get downstairs and prepare the camera for the gift opening. After the storm of wrapping paper and a cinnamon bun breakfast, we all sit around and wait for a decent hour to roll around.

Then the get-togethers commence.  My mom’s entire side of the family will be in the state for the first time in God knows how long, so we will be meeting up at her sister’s house. There, I assume we will exchange even more presents (this is a first time thing, so I’m guessing here) and eventually eat dinner. I am going to be ready for this meal to be more vegetarian friendly than the previous one, because my mom’s mom made stuffing for Thanksgiving and was beating herself up (metaphorically, of course) for forgetting that I was a vegetarian and putting bacon in ALL the stuffing. Needless to say she won’t be letting herself make the same mistake any time soon.

As for my Christmas wishes, I may have mentioned that I asked for books. Additions to that list include a new bike (my gears are messed up and I can’t ride it without it skipping and almost throwing me off of it), a new laptop (mentioned in a previous post) and lotion (I have this weird obsession for lotion and lip gloss. It’s weird because I never have enough. I seriously have more right now than I will ever use).

So how about you? I want comments, so go ahead, tell me about your holiday plans, your holiday wishes, etc. Don’t leave me hanging.

Leave a Reply

