New Years Failure

Can we just take a moment to appreciate that I didn’t write about New Years resolutions until February? (Alright, you got me you little show off, I’m writing this in January. But I already have posts scheduled to go up until February, so I’m not posting it until now).

Working out is one of those New Years resolutions that just about every lazy American has, and I am one of ‘those.’ For your information, however, I did stick with it for a good couple of weeks, and then school work started getting heftier and my brother started bringing his girlfriend over more often (he has a social life, I shall forever be alone), and play practices have been really long. If it helps any, I haven’t been eating a whole lot, so at least there isn’t this huge intake of unnecessary calories that I’m not burning off.

I know what you’re thinking. “Hey, Katie, what does your brother’s girlfriend have anything to do with your workout habits?” Well, our workout equipment (I use the elliptical, woohoo) is in the basement, which is also where my brother’s bedroom is, and it’s pretty much the only place in the house you can do something fun and still have privacy, so that is generally where they go when she’s over. I AM NOT working out while my brother and his girlfriend make out on the couch in the basement. Gross.

You might also be saying, “Hey, Katie. You’re always complaining about schoolwork. Why are you in all those fancy classes if you don’t like the work?” Some people say there is no such thing as a stupid question. Those people are what I like to call. . . wrong. Nobody likes the work, we do it because we are capable of it. We do it because our parents and teachers know that we are some of the few students that will finish our homework before coming on the internet and messing around, which means we can handle the work load.

As for play practice, I want to be healthy, but I’m not going to put my life on hold just for a few hours after school every day to be available for exercise. That would be what most people call ‘not worth it.’

You might also be asking “Why exactly do you think we care about any of this?” A couple of reasons. One, I was hoping you would cut me some slack next time I miss a post because blogging is one of the things holding me back from physical fitness (haha, I will never achieve physical fitness) and you should feel guilty about that. Another reason is that this is the place where I come to tell everyone of things that I tell no one else because no one who reads this knows me in real life, and I go through a hell of a lot to keep it that way. The last reason is that THIS IS MY BLOG AND I WILL DO WHATEVER I WANT WITH IT.

The biggest reason, however, is that I am a girl who has very low self-esteem and I was hoping that by putting up this statement on the internet for everyone to see, I will actually follow through with it. So here goes: I am going to work out at least every other day from now on.

*Que dramatic music*

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

