In Fear of Yourself

It isn’t an original topic here at this blog, but this is something that must be revisited. Don’t worry, the same information that has already been spewed at you won’t just be regurgitated, and I will do my best to make this post worth your while.

Everyone is scared, and everyone is scared that others will judge them or not like them. There is a girl at my school that left the school because nobody liked her, but she was expecting everyone to like her whilst she didn’t even attempt to tolerate anybody. She was terrified because she wasn’t being accepted by everybody.

Isn’t this everyone’s fear? Isn’t this why we talk to people we’ve just met for the first time in a totally different manner than we talk to our best friends or people we’ve known all our lives? So that we have time to gauge what is acceptable to say in their eyes so that they won’t judge you and so that you won’t be rejected.

I understand, I am the same way. However, I am not afraid of telling the truth when it comes to things on a personal level. If people ask, I answer, end of story. I have nothing to be ashamed of and I’m not going to let anyone believe that I do. I’m not going to live my life in fear of myself.

Needless to say, it upsets me when people do live life in fear of themselves. For example, a guy who is a closeted gay, locked away in fear that society will turn on him because he starts wearing clothes that match. No one should be ashamed of who they are, you’re supposed to make yourself someone that you are proud of, it’s not supposed to matter what everyone else thinks.

No, I’m not always happy with my appearance and no, I’m not particularly fond of the way I laugh or smile or sound when I talk, but I am damn proud of the person I’ve become and I’m not going to let my self-consciousness stop that. You don’t have to love yourself, you just have to be happy with yourself.

To put it simply, don’t let any little insignificant detail about you get you down. Don’t be ashamed, because I think, just because I know that right now you’ve read through this blog and are currently reading it because at some point in time you clicked “TheOtherCategory,” that you’re a pretty awesome person.

Sometimes, we all get down on ourselves, and believe me, I know what that’s like, but you can’t let that control your life. I know what it’s like to want to hide in your room all the time so that you don’t have to face people. I’ve hit rock bottom, and I’m the only person who knows it. I’m better now, and I think everyone should know what it’s like to be someone that they’re happy to be.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

