Music Friday #1

Happy Friday! This is the first installment of something I’m hoping to keep going for a while. I’m hoping you’ll know what it is by the title, so I’m not going to bother explaining it. Here goes.

Only the Good Die Young is my first selection because I feel like it will get me in the least amount of trouble from my readers. Next week I’ll be posting about a lesser-known artist, but for right now I figure I’d point out a true classic.

From a musician’s point of view, this might not be the most difficult song or the most impressive – most songs on the radio tend to be a combination of just four or five of the simplest chords. Aside from that, though, any musician can tell you that music isn’t about the complexity of the music. The point of music is the feeling, and this song undeniably gives you the feeling you want to just get up and dance.

No, it’s not the best message in the lyrics, but I do like some particular lines. (For example: ‘I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints, the sinners are much more fun’). I’m not going to lie, I don’t care what the message of the song is; if it’s by Billy Joel, it’s pretty awesome.

Not only is Billy Joel just an incredibly gifted singer/songwriter/musician, he is actually a great performer. Not that I’ve ever seen him live; I have seen videos and I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone who was born to perform as much as good old Billy.

So that’s it for this week, have a nice weekend!

6 Comments

  1. Ya Billy Joel!!!!!! My favorites of his are ‘You may be right’ ‘She’s always a woman’ and ‘Still rock and roll to me’. Hey, whats your opinion of this. So I’m at musical practice, working on crew, and I here they’re practicing Burning Love by elvis, and that they don’t know it. I was shocked. I love Elvis and know that song through and through. What about you? do you know Elvis?

    Reply

    1. Are you kidding me? I had a dad and two brothers growing up; I know EVERY Elvis song. Especially if you factor in that my brother had a huge man-crush on his music. I swear he just played Elvis on repeat for the majority of his childhood. How do people not know Burnin’ Love? It’s actually funny you mentioned that because I just burst into that song out of nowhere yesterday. It. Was. Awesome.

      Reply

  2. I think this is one of the most vital info for me. And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

    Reply

  3. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but
    instead of that, this is magnificent blog. A great read.
    I will definitely be back.

    Reply

  4. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost
    a pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Kudos

    Reply

Leave a Reply

