I’m Not a Religious Person

Here I sit, watching Disney’s Hercules, procrastinating just a few more hours before I actually accomplish any schoolwork I really have to do, and I realize how much religion plays a part in the world. Not just back during the time of Greek Mythology, and very religious people are harder and harder to come by, these days, but religion does still seem to mean a lot to some people.

Exhibit A (and really the only exhibit): the new pope. It’s been a while since I’ve seen that much hooplah.

So here’s the opinion, from a Catholic:

There’s science. I like science. A lot. And I believe in it much more than I believe in a  spirit floating in the clouds granting wishes.

The purpose of religion (for the most part) is to teach you how to be a good person. I like to think I’m a good person, with or without a God that I have to answer to when I die.

If there really is a God, as long as you’re a good person, you should be sent to heaven, right?

No, I’m not a religious person, and I seldom go to church, but I find it’s helpful to believe in times of weakness. When you’re really down and when you really feel alone, it helps to know that you at least have God on your side, as cheesy as it sounds.

I like to think of the way that I view religion as a sort of selective-belief. I figure, as long as you’re a good person, shouldn’t that be enough in any religion?

2 Comments

  1. I am actually pretty religious, but I agree that if you’re a good person you should go to heaven. Doesn’t matter what you call God, doesn’t matter whether or not you believe in an actual God or whether you believe in a good and moral way of doing stuff. In the end, you’re just following God by your name for him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

