Hell Week

WARNING! WARNING! You are about to read a post from the past on account of I have an essay to write by tomorrow and this happened to be in my drafts. This post is about the musical we did earlier, which we have already finished performing. Sorry I didn’t have it in me to write anything golden today. It starts now:

It’s about that time again; the time of lost energy and sore throats. It’s (dun dun DUN) hell week. That’s right, the week that us theater kids have seven-hour rehearsals of mostly incessant singing, dancing, and trying not to pass out. With the exception of costume changes and dinner break, every member of the cast is on stage the entire time because it’s Godspell.

Thankfully, I have the option to skip dinner, which last night consisted of fried chicken (thank God I’m a vegetarian, right?) and mac & cheese. Of course, I had about two bites of mac & cheese so that I would have the time to do my homework.

“Seven-hour rehearsals?” you ask. I can tell you’re incredulous, let me explain. They are dress rehearsals, all week, for seven hours immediately after school. We get a little less than an hour to get dressed and to do make-up (since I’m a girl, I also have to do the make-up of a few of the more heterosexual guys in the cast). We start the play around 4 and go until 10, I did say that includes dinner and costume changes/make-up. Although the drama department at my school does provide us with dinner, I have found myself skipping it quite often. Not for any reason that would be detrimental to my health, but because I have a lot of homework to do and I have no other time to do it. I mean, what kind of person who is at school from 7:20 in the morning until 10:00 at night would do their homework outside of rehearsal? I mean, you have to get a shower and change and take off your stage make-up and all that jazz. It’s not exactly ideal.

Tonight, however, I did eat dinner. And boy did I EAT! Somebody brought the vegetarian issue to the attention of the woman in charge (it wasn’t me, that’s not how socially awkward people roll) and she managed to get us vegetarian subs which were delicious and like two feet long. I had half of one after I told myself I would only eat like a quarter. Somehow my brain just slipped into auto-pilot and before I knew it I looked down and the whole half of the sub that I previously had on my plate was gone. I felt like a monster. (Side note: there were olives on that thing and it was my first time trying olives ever, to be fair I definitely gave them a chance, but they are one of the worst discoveries in terms of food in the history of the universe).

Thankfully, the teachers know how hell week works and since I had straight A’s last marking period, I have 2 homework passes in each of my classes. Sometimes I think they give us a lot of homework just to see how out of it we are the day that it’s due. Goodbye now, back to the class that I ignored for the past ten minutes while writing this.

Leave a Reply

