Pop Sensations

Can we talk a little bit? Or, you know, I’ll talk (type) and you listen (read).

Pop is a genre that a lot of people seem to disagree on. You have your rock fans, you metal heads, and basically anyone who listens to anything outside of pop. It’s a common thought that everyone involved in pop is just plain untalented.

If pop isn’t your cup of tea, that’s fine. I listen to all music and I won’t judge you for not liking it. I’ll admit a lot of pop is just plain crap and some of the most popular artists have no talent. My least favorite? Ke$ha. God I hate typing that. But I don’t hate her for her music, I hate her for the fact that she’s famous and she can’t even sing. Not well enough to be as popular as she is.

However, a lot of pop singers are actually good singers. They might not write very good songs of their songs might blatantly suck. Their music might be completely basic or the chord progression could be just horrible. There may be no rhythmic interest in the song. That’s not the point.

The thing is, you need a lot of talent to not only write lyrics, but the music to songs and sing. I mean, if you look at a lot of singers, even if you don’t like their music, they can actually sing. I’m serious. Look up people like Hunter Hayes (he’s less pop, more country, but some of his stuff has made it through to pop stations), Justin Bieber (I’m not kidding, his music is annoying but he can really sing), and – bear with me hear – even One Direction.

Now that we’re getting in to One Direction, they come with more of an explanation. They auditioned for the X Factor in the UK as soloists before they were put together by the show as a group. If you listen to their auditions, they’re mediocre. They aren’t much special, and the best audition of them all was Liam Payne. When they were put together as a group, their performances on the big stage were just awful. Their first performance together was quiet and acoustic, it wasn’t too bad. Were they good enough to be at the level of popularity they got to? No. They were just cute faces, and teenage girls liked that, so they voted for them.

Does this mean they’re just untalented little shits? No. If you listen to their X Factor performances versus their recent acoustic performances, it’s unbelievable the improvement they’ve made with their vocals. Trust me, I do my research. If you don’t believe me, here you go.

Click here for their performance of Viva la Vida on The X Factor.

Click here for a live acoustic performance of their song One Thing.

Is my point that pop is better than you think? NO. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD THAT IS NOT MY POINT.

My point is that these artists are actual people and don’t deserve half of the crap they get. They improve and although they may have gotten famous based on how nice their faces look, that doesn’t mean they totally lack any talent. Give them a break.

ALSO I used One Direction as an example because my cousin loves them and I figured that they’d make the easiest example because of their improvement. The same thing goes for Justin Bieber before and after being signed, and probably just about every other singer that ever was thanks to vocal training from the studio.

2 Comments

  1. Katie! This is kinda in-line with some stuff I’ve been talking to people about a lot lately. I’ll agree with you on this; most people who don’t listen to pop bash the entire genre indiscriminately, and that’s, well, pretty douchey of them, so I’ll try not to be one of those people. I certianly have my days where I could go for some Coldplay, Justin Timberlake, Lady Gaga, Daft Punk or Neon Trees. I have my days (almost every day in the summer, frankly) where I just listen to Top 40 radio. It’s fun, it’s easy, it’s summery. Sure. That being said, it still doesn’t make much of a difference to me if an artist can sing (if they CAN’T, that’s a problem). They may have a fine voice, but if they’re just going to use a verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus song structure in EVERY SONG THEY WRITE, I’m not going out of my way to buy their music. It’s just not interresting to me. I’ll agree with you on this- Justin Beiber has a LOT of talent. It’s not music, it’s charm. That’s admirable, and that’s fine. He’s an entertainer, basically. And yet I don’t really care, because I’d rather hear good music (and not just vocals, either). At the end of the day, the music IS bad and I’m probably going to change the channel. It’s not ALL pop. Some pop is good, and that shouldn’t be overlooked. I’ll also agree with you that bashing artists (any artists) just for the sake of bashing them is plain stupid. But hey! Glad you like to argue this stuff too. You should get in on the Macklemore debate we’ve been having!

    Reply

    1. Oh dear I can’t get in with a Macklemore debate yet because I’m still not exactly sure how I feel about him! But yeah, I totally get what you’re saying and I’m a lot happier to hear that than I would be just hearing Justin Bieber sucks. I totally understand that you crave musical intricacy, although I never really had a problem with the standard song structure. I guess it depends on what you really enjoy in music, because I’m mostly a vocal and lyric girl, but some people are drawn by other aspects. I just base a lot of artist’s credibility on how they write and how they sing because, in the end, a lot of the time that is the main thing record labels sign them for. Unless they’re in a band, then they pay attention to the music altogether. I definitely understand where you’re coming from and I’m totally relieved that you have an open mind as well when it comes to this stuff.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

