Basic Human Rights

I’m pretty sure we are all aware, politically, of what is currently going on in the United States.

Image

This is an issue of human rights. If you want to know my stance on abortion, fine. Here it is: a woman should be able to decide what she wants to do with her own body. It’s that simple. Let’s be honest, I don’t want someone who was impregnated through rape to be forced to have the baby. Or, even worse, live in a country where abortions are illegal and have to get one in some run-down building and wind up getting hurt or dying. I mean, are we forgetting why we legalized abortion in the first place?

And if you’re against abortion, let me ask you this. If that baby that you saved is born gay (don’t even TRY to tell me they aren’t born gay), will you still fight for its rights? Yes, I am looping both groups in with each other because I’d genuinely like to know answers.

You want to know my stance on gay marriage? Here goes: everyone should have the ability and the right to love whoever they want. Everyone DESERVES to be happy, to be able to love, and to be recognized equally under the government. You can say it’s because I’m a theatre dork and I have gay friends, but it’s not. If you know my generation, we, for the most part, have a lot of similar views because of the times we were born into.

Image

When we were born, the idea of gay people wasn’t taboo, it wasn’t gross, it wasn’t even a little bit odd. It was normal. So why do we all think so much of gay rights? Because we don’t see homosexuals as homosexuals. We see them as people. The way everybody should see them. Homo sapiens. Human beings. Living things with emotions. People. Don’t ever tell me anyone doesn’t deserve the same rights you get.

Image

Leave a Reply

